The Project Management Institute (PMI®) and Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL®) provide widely accepted frameworks for improving execution and better achieving desired outcomes. The PMI® Program Management Professional (PgMP®) certification focuses on managing interdependent projects to obtain business benefits. The ITIL® certifications focus on effective IT services.

Both are principle based frameworks that provide the “what” should be done as well as the “why,” making them applicable to many environments. The organizations select the best practices for their needs and define the “how” to implement them. The PgMP® is role based and ITIL is based on the IT life-cycle. The PgMP Program Management Performance domains are Program Strategy Alignment, Program Governance, Program Stakeholder Engagement, Program Benefits Delivery and Program Life Cycle Management. ITIL® best practices are grouped under Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation and Continual Service Improvement. The table below shows where they reinforce each other.


Program Strategy Alignment Service Strategy
Program Governance Service Strategy
Program Stakeholder Governance Service Strategy
Program Life Cycle Management Service Design
Program Life Cycle Management Continual Service Improvement
Program Benefits Deliver (Benefits Transition) Service Transition
Program Benefits Deliver (Benefits Sustainment) Service Operation


They are highly compatible. Both provide a common language to enhance communication across all levels of stakeholders Both provide an emphasis on looking beyond your individual role to strategic objectives and business value. Knowledge of both can help equip a Project or Program Manager to understand how Program Management supports IT functions and provide a better bridge between business leadership and IT.

For more information on ITIL® see:

For more information on the PgMP® see: